Sauza Silver Tequila

It is with some trepidation that I look towards this bottle of tequila to drink. I’ve only had tequila once before, and it wasn’t the best experience I’ve ever had. It went straight to my Bottle.pnghead, and lingered for a long, long time. I had it at a bar, and when out in public I make it a point to drink more water than I do alcohol. I usually stop after two, but decided on a third, and it was a margarita. I drank it and fell into a stupor, and ended up just sitting like a lump with my head down on the bar. The bar tender, whom I know, got worried because she’d never seen me in such a state before.

I sat at the bar for another hour or so, drinking more water the whole time, and had some food as well. I got up to leave, and was outside with my keys in my hand when I realized I was still drunk. The tequila hadn’t worn off, and it was another 30 minutes before my head cleared. It’s no mystery why there’s a little ditty that goes “One tequila, two tequila, three tequila, floor!,” or tequila is sometimes call “t’kill ya.” So that’s the baggage I carry while I look at a glass full of Sauza Silver Tequila.

I will say that Sauza come in a handsome bottle: It’s very square, with coat of arms embossed on the back. I also like the shiny blue rooster under the label. But, I dwell on these to delay drinking, because I’m not really sure what will happen. Opening the bottle, the stuff smells rank. It has the smell of something rotting, which, I guess is how you get alcohol in the first place, but other drinks don’t smell like this. It seems almost like it’s started to turn to vinegar.

Its flavor is not much like the way it smells. It definitely tastes like a plant. If you’ve ever been to a farmers market and seen someone selling agave, the smell of that plant is what this tastes like, which I like. Tasting it, it almost makes me feel like I’m out on a farm among the agave. It seems like this drink carries with it the history of its making, the story of its origin. While I wouldn’t say it’s sweet, it definitely has the flavor of the plant’s sugars as well. There’s an earthiness here, and a pepperiness as well.

Rooster.png
A blue rooster adorns the front of the bottle

Going down its a little different from other drinks I’ve experienced. You definitely feel the alcohol, there’s a little bit of burn, but its also smooth at the same time. There’s no rough edge to the burn, it just lets you know it’s there and then fades. It’s unusual, and I like this as well.

On the rock, its character is totally different. Iced down, Sauza Silver becomes a ghost. Its flavors fade until they’re just barely perceptible, even the flavor of the ethanol is almost untastable; the pepperiness is gone. There’s no burn, no warmth, almost no sign physical sign of the alcohol at all, except a mild tingle in the chest and the feeling of the alcohol drawing hydration out of the lips and tongue. If you like the taste, you’ll have to breath out from the throat after a large sip.

I also mixed some of this tequila into a cocktail that I’m dubbing the “Güero.” It was inspired by an old style White Russian, made from three parts Sauza tequila, two parts whole milk, and one part crème de cacao, combined and shaken over ice. The flavors of the ingredients sat evenly with their proportions in the drink. The strongest taste was the sharper part of the plant flavor of the tequila, the the creaminess of the milk, with the chocolate flavor of the crème sitting subtly underneath. Drinking this, I did come to understand why White Russians have come to be made with coffee liqueur instead of chocolate, but I would add some in instead of making a substitution with this drink. As for using milk instead of cream, I’m not sure whether cream would be better or not, so in the future I’ll certainly be trying it that way, and may even try out both. Maybe I’ll give an update once I have.

Side Impression.png
An impression in the glass, on the side of the bottle

Just as a beverage, Sauza Silver Tequila put my worries about past experiences with other tequila to rest. It soothed my trepidation and won me over with its rugged goodness. As to the qualities of its intoxicating effect, it didn’t leave me in a sludgy drunkenness like other tequila. It imparted feeling of lightness with its buzz, and left me feeling relatively clear headed.

