Jägermeister

Orange logoJägermeister is a drink that didn’t know what to think of. It’s often associated with young people partying; it’s not exactly known for being a flavorful, enjoyable liqueur for people who just want to enjoy a drink and relax, but that is what I found when I tried it.

At first taste I didn’t know what to think of it. It had nice flavors that I could pick out, like anise and orange peel, but it was also very bitter. I also tried it mixed into some Red Stripe Jamaican Style Lager (known as a Jägerbomb,) but found that its flavors were too delicate for such a mixture, and it ended up as a nondescript, indistinct cocktail.

I was a little disappointed, as I’d had high hopes for a drink that comes in such classy looking packaging and has been around for as long as it has. The next day, I gave it another try, and it was a completely different experience.

It turns out that even though I’d chilled my bottle of Jägermeister in the freezer, I hadn’t had it in long enough. After it had been cooled over night, and was really truly cold, the flavors changed. The bitterness sank down into the background, and the complex flavor that comes from many spices interacting came out. Most sips were slightly sweet, and dominated by anise or orange. As I came down to the bottom of my glass, other spices that had been settling came to the fore, and it was savory and good; it was like an old spice cabinet, with years of scents mingling and coming to life together.

Orange crest

Better than being mixed with beer, I found it very good mixed with Sprite. Once again, I used an imported glass bottle from Mexico made with cane sugar. The Sprite gave the Jägermeister room to breathe. It spread out, and a fruityness that you only get a hint of on its own was bolstered by the citric acid in the soda. Sprite also shows you just how dark Jägermeister is, being darkened to look almost like rootbeer.

One thought on “Jägermeister

Comments are closed.