In the Beginning

It would seem prudent that I should explain what we’re all doing here, so I’ll just get to it.

Since before I was of legal drinking age, I loved spirits. From a sip of wine during a holiday dinner, a quick taste while making the batter for beer battered chicken, or the floral scent of good scotch, there has always been something that appealed to me, something alluring, about the adult beverage.

I discovered at a young age that I prefer the harder stuff, liquor, like whiskey or rum, to beer or wine, and now find my self drawn to discover which ones I like most. To find the answer to that question, I have to start trying them, and it’s my goal to taste them all. I’m here to invite anyone that might want to read along to follow me and see what experiences I have: Good, bad, and unexpected.

I sit here on a cold night with a bottle of Appleton Estate Signature Blend rum, which I will soon try for the first time. In my next post, I’ll be telling you what I felt about it. Not to sound trite, but until then I’ll raise my glass to everyone out there. Cheers, and see you next time.

